Trials, Tribulations, and Assessment Ideas with MinecraftEdu

These past two weeks have been challenging to say the least. As we entered into the virtual world of Minecraft as an educational tool my mind (and consequently my motion sickness) went to new heights in regards to how this could be used in the classroom. Not unfamiliar with gameplay integrated into learning, this was just a whole new genre of play I’m not used to. While I do believe in gaming as a way to help formulate and enhance learning, I just wasn’t sure how I could fit Minecraft into my realm of assessment in an ELA classroom. Doubts occurred while we listened to Jane McGonigal talk about how gaming could save the world, but as we listened to James Gee talk this week about the wonders of gaming and collaboration I found a new appreciate for this 21st-century mindset within teaching.

It was with this deep appreciation that I took the plunge into the world of Minecraft. Heavily influenced by the excitement of my children, I forged into this new world. While it wasn’t easy, I can say I truly appreciated the sense of excitement I saw within my children as they watched me create my first assessment. Aside from the motion sickness (I just don’t do well in a virtual world), and the lack of understanding so many of the actual ideologies of the game, it brought about ideas in regards to having students create their own assessments and share with others. If I put together a rubric in which case I also gave students a “blueprint” of what I wanted could they create their own world in which I assess their learning? Therefore allowing me to observe their play, rather than me clamoring about trying to create it for them? This is a question I have in mind and one that has taken up great space since I created my virtual assessment. I offer you a glimpse into my world and thought process with a viewing of my screencast of the actual assessment I created. In this assessment, I wanted students to note if they understood key terms in an essay by placing the correct color of block and/or piece of landscape. The assessment would be one in which they could do it at either the beginning or end of class and it would be quick enough that I could see what needed to be retaught, or even use it as a pretest into a writing unit.

You can view the screencast here:

Minecraft Assessment Screencast

While I first apologize for its somewhat lackluster look, please know it was with great tribulation and hours it took to create. Not a gamer this is not surprising, but just a prewarning to those that view. I welcome comments and ideas on how this could be better and I also give a shout out to all my fellow colleagues in CEP813. I viewed your work this week and am very lucky to be part of such a brilliant group.

Leave a comment