Beginning the World of Minecraft

My children play Minecraft. When I downloaded it to their tablets for Christmas several years ago I never would’ve thought I would be asked to then use it in the classroom as a way of assessment, collaboration, and a learning platform. It is due to this that I have begun my own process of looking at myself as an educator and incorporating gaming into the classroom with much trepidation. Perhaps it is because I am inexperienced in the field itself, or because I find the idea of it too difficult to comprehend, I’m not sure, but my venture has had a rocky start from the very beginning.

As I will continue to grow over the course of the next few weeks on this, I wanted to keep my ideologies to a minimum, trying not to expound too far into any belief system. Within my next blog I hope to alleviate many of the concerns here and come to you with an open mind.

I share with you my first glimpse at the world of MinecraftEdu in the screencast below. This week’s adventure had left me more frustrated than I’ve ever been in terms of downloading software and actually using it. I’m hoping that as the week wears on so will my patience and level of learning in this new world.

Minecraft: Screencast #1-The Beginning

Leave a comment